[Log In ]

Marianist's Moments

The Society of Mary (Marianists) sponsors Our Lady of the Pillar Parish. The Marianists arrived in Dayton in 1849 and slowly migrated to other areas of the United States. They arrived in St. Louis in September 1897 at Soulard, Saints Peter and Paul grade school, to teach the boys and the Notre Dame Sisters taught the girls. Kenrick High School and later, McBride grew out of Saints Peter and Paul.

Currently, there are over 300 Marianist brothers and priests in the Province of the United States. They serve in Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Easter Africa, India, Ireland, Mexico, Nepal and the Philippines. They sponsor 3 Universities: The University of Dayton in Ohio, St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas and Chaminade University in Hawaii, 18 high schools across the country and 4 retreat centers. Our Lady of the Pillar is one of seven parishes.

The Marianist charisms that guide all Marianists in their ministries are:

Marianists are dedicated people of faith who carry out God’s will in their service to others.

Marianists view Mary as the model of discipleship. They follow Mary’s mission to bring the presence of Jesus to life within themselves and to all those they meet.

Mariainsts are a people of community who believe that living, praying and supporting each other in community enriches their faith and allows them to grow in their ability to meet the challenges that come to them. They are especially focused on addressing the needs resulting from poverty and ignorance.

The Marianists have an unusual formation which they call a discipleship of equals. The brothers and priests share equal status within the Society of Mary. All priests begin as brothers.

The Marianists serve as leaders in mission to bring Christ to the world and to work for the coming of His kingdom.

There are three branches of the Society of Mary: The Priests and Brothers, The Marianist Sisters (FMI) and The Lay Marianists.